

C E A W A R D S 2 0 2 2

Community Energy AWARDS 2022

CITY HALL, LONDON

20 JANUARY 2023

A WARM WELCOME

I'm delighted to welcome you all here tonight for the first Community Energy Awards since 2019. Community Energy, now more than ever, is an integral part of our net zero future and the aim of tonight is to shine a light on the most exceptional contributions to the community energy sector.

Community Energy England's purpose is to act as the voice of the sector and help put people at the heart of the energy system and we're here today to champion our sector. Working closely together, with your commitment, the sector will continue to adapt, innovate and thrive.

We'd like to thank all our supporters and the judges who have diligently selected the winners, and all of you for joining in the celebrations to recognise everyone's hard work and passion.

Congratulations to our finalists and winners who play a huge part in ensuring the sector's continued growth.

Enjoy the evening and the very best of luck tonight.

Helen Seagrave Interim Chair, Community Energy England





18:00 - Guests Arrive

18:30 - Opening Remarks from Community Energy England

18:40 - Welcome Address from Keynote Speakers

19:00 - Awards Ceremony (Part I)

19:25 - Drinks Reception & Networking

19:55 - Address from Nadia Smith

20:00 - Awards Ceremony (Part II)

20:30 - Awards Ceremony Close

Judges

Grateful thanks to our independent judges who were responsible for choosing winners and finalists for each award category, Leonie Cooper Chair of the Panel Kate Gilmartin, North West Net Zero Hub Will Walker, Power to Change Prina Sumaria, Regen Louise Hosegood, South West Net Zero Energy Hub Connie Muir, Croydon Community Energy Michaela Cryar, Younity Jonathan Atkinson, Carbon Co-op Helen Seagrave, Electricity North West Mary Gillie, Founder of Energy Local Katherine Linsley, Community Energy London Victoria Mackay, Community Energy Scotland Avi Aithal, Energy Networks Association

66

I thoroughly enjoyed being part of this year's judging panel and seeing the diverse mix of people shortlisted as finalists who are driving our movement forward. It's also my great pleasure to present the Youth Energy award to the individual or group who have made a positive impact on the engagement of younger people in community energy.

Michaela Cryar, Younity





Social and Environmental Impact

Exeter Community Energy | SELCE | Energise Barnsley

Sponsored by Naturesave Insurance

Youth Energy

Energy Heroes | CREW Energy | Jessica Dunning, CEL

Finance and Innovation

Ambition Community Energy C.I.C, Thrive Renewables, Bristol & Bath Regional Capital and Bristol City Council | Younity | Lendology





Local Authority Collaboration

Grimsby Community Energy Community Energy South (Pathways Programme) UK Power Networks

Community Energy Organisation of the Year

Community Energy South Exeter Community Energy Low Carbon Hub





Fuel Poverty Action

Energise Sussex | Exeter Community Energy | CAfS

Community Engagement & Inclusion

Art & Energy Collective and Plymouth Energy Community CREW Energy Repowering London

Scaling up Community Energy

Egni Co-op | Younity | CES (Pathways Programme)





Community Energy Photo of the Year

Low Carbon Hub Repowering London SELCE Plymouth Energy Community Solar for Schools

Community Energy Champion (Team)

Community Energy London Exeter Community Energy Northern Powergrid

Community Energy Champion (Individual)

Rachel Moffat, Bristol Energy Network Kate Gilmartin, NW Net Zero Hub