The Community Energy Awards were first established by Energise London, and the inaugural awards made at a ceremony in Oxford in June 2014. The Community Energy Awards 2015 were administered by Community Energy England in association with Energise London and the Community Energy Coalition and took place on 5th September in Oxford. Northern Powergird sponsored the event.

Award Winners

The eight category winners, which represent the very best examples of community energy in England and Wales were:

Community Energy Saving Award

The community group which has undertaken the most inspiring energy conservation and/or management project

2015 winner: Wey Valley Solar Schools Energy Co-operative

Previous winner: Easton Energy

Community Heat Project Award

The most commendable sustainable heating project undertaken by a community group

2015 winner: Camelford Leisure Centre

Previous winner: Lancaster Co-Housing ('Energy Generation')

Community Power Project Award - Sponsored by Stephens Scown

The most commendable sustainable electricity generation project undertaken by a community group

2015 winner: Chase Community Solar

Previous winner: Whalley Community Hydro ('Start-up')

Community Energy Innovation Award

The community group or facilitator which has set a benchmark in joint action, fuel poverty alleviation or other community energy services not recognised by other awards

2015 winner: Co-operatives UK’s Peer Mentoring Programme

Previous winners: Viridis ('Energy Management'); Snitterfield ('Energy Purchase')

Local Authority Partner Award

The Local Authority which done most to help local, community energy organisations through partnering, investing and/or other support

2015 winner: Cornwall Council

Previous winner: Oxford City Council

Collaboration Award

The most commendable collaboration between community and commercial / public / third sector partners, whether under the Shared Ownership voluntary protocol or otherwise

2015 winner: Saddleworth Community Hydro

New award for 2015

Community Energy Funding Award - Sponsored by Pure Leapfrog

The community group and its funders and advisers, which have achieved the most inspiring results in bringing investment into the sector

2015 winner: Ethex

Previous winners: Green Fox ('Share Issue'); Brighton Energy Co-operative ('Fund-raiser'); Trillion ('Funder')

Community Energy Champion Award - Sponsored by Naturesave

The individual who has done most to advance the community energy sector over recent years

2015 winner: Adam Twine and Jon Hallé

Previous winners: Peter Capener ('Leader'); Barbara Hampson ('Volunteer'); Colin Baines ('Campaigner')

Other categories

We have reduced the number of awards from the fifteen categories in 2014. There are no equivalents in 2015 for the following:

Previous winners: Bath & West ('Organisation'); Mike Ford ('Green Energy'); Denis Reeves ('Fuel Poverty')