Community Energy Awards 2019


Community Energy England and Community Energy Wales have teamed up again to deliver the 2019 Community Energy Awards.The ceremony will take place on the evening of 18 October at City Hall, London. Book your place to attend here

A variety of sponsorship opportunities are available

Nominations are now closed, apart from the Community Energy Photo Award (deadline 27 September), which will be put to the public vote. Images must be sent to along with...

  • The name of the photographer.
  • Details of what was shot.
  • Why the image captures the essence of community energy.
  • Permission from the photographer or owner of the photograph for CEE to use the photograph in publicity, marketing and promotional materials including online and social media whether or not it is the final winner.

The 2018 Community Energy Photo Award Winner - 'YnNi Teg - Powered by Wind'. Photo credit - Flashbulb Photography & Film.

Award winners will receive

  • An award trophy and certificate
  • Addition to the Community Energy Hall of Fame
  • Official awards stamp for their website
  • A case study will be produced about them and distributed to the media

Award categories

We have two new awards for 2018

  • Environmental Impact Award - The project which has produced the most outstanding environmental improvement within their community.
  • Social Impact Award - The community organisation who has used energy as a mechanism to make the widest reaching improvement of lives in their community.

Existing award categories

  • Community Renewable Energy Project Award - The most outstanding renewable electricity generation project undertaken by a community group. Organisations nominated for this award must be members of Community Energy England or Community Energy Wales.
  • Community Energy & Carbon Saving Award - The community group which has undertaken the most inspiring energy conservation and/or management project
  • Local Authority Award - The Local Authority which has done most to help local community energy organisations through partnering, investing, policy or other support
  • Collaboration Award - The most commendable collaboration between community and commercial / public / third sector partners
  • Community Energy Finance Award -The community group and/or its funders and advisers, which have achieved the most impact through a range of financial instruments/mechanisms, through grant funding, debt finance, community shares, funding platforms or new funding models
  • Community Energy Champion - The individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the community energy sector over recent years
  • Community Energy Young Champion - An award to celebrate the increasing amount of creative, organised and motivated young people getting involved in community energy
  • Community Energy Photo Award - The original photo which best captures the essence of the community energy movement

The Judging Panel

  • Patrick Allcorn
  • Sonya Bedford
  • Jake Burnyeat
  • Josh Brown
  • Leonie Cooper
  • Rhys Wyn Jones
  • Kathy Smyth

Previous winners

  • Community Renewable Energy Project Award

2018 winner: The Schools’ Energy Cooperative Ltd [see case study]

2017 Winner: Gower Power  [see case study] 
Commendation: Energy Local [see case study]

2016 winner: Awel Aman Tawe [see case study]
Commendation: Ynni Anafon Energy

2015 winner: Chase Community Solar

  • Community Energy & Carbon Saving Award

2018 winner: C.H.E.E.S.E. Domestic energy loss surveys [see case study]

2017 winner: South East London Community Energy [see case study]
Commendation: Carbon Co-op [see case study]

2016 winner: Brighton & Hove Energy Services Cooperative [see case study]

2015 winner: Wey Valley Solar Schools Energy Co-operative

  • Local Authority Award

2018 winner: Suffolk Climate Change Partnership [see case study]

2017 winner: Oldham Council [see case study]
Commendation: Energise Barnsley - Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council [see case study]

2016 winner: Plymouth City Council [see case study]

2015 winner: Cornwall Council

  • Collaboration Award 

2018 winner: Energise Barnsley [see case study]

2017 winner: M&S Energy Society [see case study]

2016 winner:  Cyd Ynni [see case study]

2015 winner: Saddleworth Community Hydro

  • Community Energy Finance Award 

2018 winner: Mean Moor Wind Farm in partnership with Thrive Renewables [see case study]

2017 winner: Leapfrog Finance [see case study]

2016 winner: The Naturesave Trust and Naturesave Policies Ltd [see case study]

2015 winner: Ethex

  • Community Energy Champion

2018 winner: Jake Burnyeat [see case study]

2017 winner: Sonya Bedford [see case study]

2016 winner: Alistair Macpherson [see case study]

2015 winner: Jon Hallé and Adam Twine

  • Community Energy Young Champion

2018 winner: Jason Blanchard

  • Outstanding Contribution to Community Energy Award  

2018 winner (by the suggestion of the judges): Energy4All (see case study)