See this page in Welsh.

A variety of sponsorship opportunities are available for this event. 

The 2017 Community Energy Awards will take place in central London on the evening of 1st November. We invite the community energy sector to an evening of celebration which begins with a drinks reception sponsored by Energy Saving Trust, in the Living Room at City Hall, London. If you wish to attend the event, due to City Hall's rules, you must register in advance for your free ticket through Eventbrite.

City Hall, London

The awards ceremony is in the evening after an Electricity Network Innovation Event taking place at Coin Street Neighbourhood Centre, London. Regen is running this event in partnership with the Energy Networks Association, various DNOs and Community Energy England.

The process for nominations has two stages. The first stage of nominations has now closed. We would like to thank all those who nominated. A shortlist of nominations will be compiled by Community Energy England and Community Energy Wales. If a nomination is shortlisted, the nominator will be asked for more in-depth information on 18th September, which must be returned by 5 October.

Award winners will receive:

  • An award trophy and certificate
  • A case study be produced about them and shared with media
  • Addition to the Community Energy Hall of Fame
  • Official awards stamp for their website.

This year there are 7 awards which are being judged by a panel of esteemed industry experts including….

  • Patrick Allcorn - Head of Local Energy, BEIS
  • Graham Ayling- Head of Foundation, Energy Saving Trust
  • Chris Blake - Chair of Community Energy Wales
  • Leonie Cooper - Chair of the London Assembly Environment Committee
  • Alistair Macpherson - CEO Plymouth Energy Community & 2016 Community Energy Champion
  • Jennifer Pride - Head of Renewable Energy, Welsh Government
  • Afsheen Rashid - Co-founder Director of Repowering London, Chair of Brixton Energy & CEE
  • Nina Skorupska - CEO at Renewable Energy Association
  • Adam Twine - Former Westmill Solar Co-operative Director & 2015 Community Energy Champion

See more detailed information on the judges here

The new for 2017, Community Energy Photo Award, will be open to the public to vote.

A variety of sponsorship opportunities are still available. 

The awards categories for 2017 are:

Community Renewable Energy Project Award - Sponsored by The Renewable Energy Association
The most outstanding renewable electricity generation project undertaken by a community group. Nominate someone for this award.

Measures of success will include:

  • Project delivery
  • Level of community engagement/use of volunteers
  • Level of community benefits
  • Effectiveness of project management team

Organisations nominated for this award must be members of Community Energy England or Community Energy Wales.

2016 winner: Awel Aman Tawe [see case study] (2016 award sponsored by Naturesave)

2016 Commendation: Ynni Anafon Energy

2015 winner: Chase Community Solar

Community Energy Saving Award
The community group which has undertaken the most inspiring energy conservation and/or management project. Nominate someone for this award.

Measures of success will include:

  • Effectiveness of the scheme
  • How many people were helped or have taken positive action
  • Amount of energy saved
  • Level of innovation of the scheme
  • Replicability of the scheme.

2016 winner: Brighton & Hove Energy Services Cooperative [see case study]

2015 winner: Wey Valley Solar Schools Energy Co-operative


Local Authority Award
The Local Authority which has done most to help local community energy organisations through partnering, investing, policy or other support. Nominate someone for this award.

Measures of success will include:

  • How the relationship was formed
  • What has been achieved to date
  • What resources have been committed/contributed
  • The level of community engagement and co-operation
  • Replicability

2016 winner: Plymouth City Council [see case study] (2016 award sponsored by Northern Powergrid)

2015 winner: Cornwall Council


Collaboration Award - Sponsored by Northern Powergrid
The most commendable collaboration between community and commercial / public / third sector partners. Nominate someone for this award.

Measures of success will include:

  • What has been achieved to date
  • Level of complexity or innovation (for instance there may have been difficult legal or structural issues to deal with or difficult procurement issues and procedures)
  • The level of volunteer and community engagement
  • How resources were shared
  • Replicability

2016 winner:  Cyd Ynni [see case study]

2015 winner: Saddleworth Community Hydro


Community Energy Finance Award
The community group and/or its funders and advisers, who have achieved the most inspiring results through a range of financial instruments/mechanisms. This could be, for example, through grant funding, debt finance, community shares, funding platforms or new funding models. Nominate someone for this award.

Measures of success will include:

  • How it has helped to deliver community energy projects or grow the sector
  • What has been achieved or delivered
  • How it has helped to maximise community benefit or drive innovation

2016 winner: The Naturesave Trust and Naturesave Policies Ltd [see case study]

2015 winner: Ethex


Community Energy Championsponsored by Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks
The individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the community energy sector over recent years. Nominate someone for this award

Measures of success will include:

  • Personal commitment
  • Ability to inspire and motivate others
  • Ability to develop and grow an idea
  • Ability to secure funding
  • Ultimately what they have achieved.

2016 winner: Alistair Macpherson [see case study] (2016 award sponsored by Scottish and Southern Energy Power Distribution)

2015 winner: Jon Hallé and Adam Twine


New award for 2017

Community Energy Photo Award
We have a new award category for 2017! This time a creative one for photographers. We want to see original photographs which capture the essence of the community energy movement. 

This award will be decided by the public with online voting before and during the awards ceremony.

The winner will receive a canvas of their image and the image will be used as part of the 2018 State of the Sector Report and wider sector promotion.

All photo nominations must be sent to along with

  • The name of the photographer
  • Details of what was shot
  • Why the image captures the essence of community energy
  • Permission from the photographer or owner of the photograph for CEE to use the photograph in publicity, marketing and promotional materials including online and social media whether or not it is the final winner.

We hope to see you on 1st November in London.